Chartered Financial Analyst

The qualification that puts you in demand

Why should you choose this course?

Earning the CFA charter prepares the professional for a variety of career paths in the investment management industry. By choosing this path, you will be working for clients to help them make sound investment decisions.  The CFA designation is valued by employers for roles and functions in every sector of the global finance industry, including portfolio management, analysis, private wealth, and consulting. 

Why should you choose this course?

CFA charterholders can be found in a variety of roles across the investment industry.

Portfolio management means the evaluation, selection and overseeing various investments in order to achieve the long-term goals of client or company given the risk tolerance of each.

Conducting research in the field of investment will enhance the charterholder’s ability to weigh strengths and weaknesses, opportunities and threats of the different investments. The research leads to decisions involving trade-offs, from debt versus equity to domestic versus international and growth versus safety.

A Charterholder can provide consultancy services to clients regarding asset management, credit analysis, portfolio management…etc.

A Charterholder can help investors in analyzing risks and return of various investment opportunities. Managing risk and setting possible responses to those risks are within the tasks performed by a CFA.

A Charterholder can help set an investment strategy  designed to guide an investor’s selection of an investment portfolio. Individuals have different profit objectives, and their individual skills make different tactics and strategies appropriate. The Charterholder can set a suitable strategy for each individual or firm investor.

Who gives the CFA exam?

The CFA® Exam is set by the CFA Institute the leading professional organization for investment professionals around the globe.

Passing the three exams marks true mastery of the curriculum and is the most important task required to earn the CFA® charter.

CFA exam topics

The CFA® Program includes the foundational knowledge that firms expect as well as the critical advanced investment analysis and portfolio management skills that are needed in investment management today. In order to earn the certification, a candidate must pass three exams that cover three levels of knowledge. Each level of the curriculum builds on the prior level and becomes increasingly complex. Exams in 2021 will be computer-based for all levels.

Level I

  • Duration: 4.5 Hours
    divided into two 135-minutes sessions
  • Format: 180 Multiple Choice Questions.

Level II

  • Duration: 4.5 Hours
  • Format: Item set questions consisting of vignettes with accompanying items.

Level III

  • Duration: 4.5 Hours
  • Format: Item set and constructed response (essay) questions.

Exam Format and Testing Dates

CFA Program contains three levels of curriculum, each with its own exam. Passing the exam for all three levels is a requirement to obtain the CFA charter.

Beginning in 2021, CFA Institute will transition to Computer-Based Testing (CBT) for all three levels of the CFA Program. Advances that come with this evolution include greater flexibility, faster results, an improved candidate experience, and an exam that reflects today’s digital workplace.


Passing Score

The Minimum Passing Score may fluctuate. The board convenes approximately six weeks following the exam to determine the Levels I and II Minimum Passing Score and again approximately seven weeks after the Level III exam to determine its Minimum Passing Score.

Eligibility Requirements to Sit for the CFA Exams

To sit for the CFA exams, a candidate must meet the following criteria:

  1. Meet one of the following criteria:
    1. Complete a bachelor’s program or equivalent program and have received a degree from the college/university. 
    2. Be a final-year student of a bachelor’s program or equivalent program on the date of enrolling for the Level I exam and becoming a candidate in CFA Program. 
    3. Have a combination of four years (or 48 months) of full-time work experience and/or college/university education on the date of registering for the Level I exam.
  2. Have an international travel passport.
  3. Be prepared to take the exam in English.

When can the CFA exam be taken?

Exams in 2021 will be offered:

  • For Level I in February, May, August, and November  
  • For Level II in May and August  
  • For Level III in May and November

Core Curriculum Topics

Weight Given Across Level
Level I Level II Level III
Ethical and Professional Standards 15-20 10-15 10-15
Quantitative Methods 8-12 5-10 0
Economics 8-12 5-10 5-10
Financial Reporting and Analysis 13-17 10-15 0
Corporate Finance 8-12 5-10 0
Equity Investment 10-12 10-15 10-15
Fixed Income 10-12 10-15 10-20
Derivatives 5-8 5-10 5-10
Alternative Investments 5-8 5-10 5-10
Portfolio Management and Wealth Planning 5-8 5-10 35-40
Total 100 100 100

Are you ready?

Contact us today to learn more about the next step to become a Certified Public Accountant.