Certified Management Accountant

More than 125,000 Professionals worldwide trusted and joined the IMA

Who should take the CMA exam?

The CMA exams are ideal for individuals who work in the areas of accounting, finance or management. The syllabus of the exam is practically based and almost all of the topics on the exam are relevant to the work that is performed by accountants. Additionally, the broad accounting and costing base in the exam is ideal for managers and others in positions of responsibility.

Why you should choose this course?

The CMA equips you with an in-depth understanding of analytical financial and business skills that not only improve your earnings potential but also opens doors to better career opportunities. The CMA improves the following skills:

Improves analytical and critical skills that businesses need.

Improves professional competencies.

Addresses challenges of identifying top talent.

Bridges the gap between academia and industry.

Leverage financial data for strategic decision-making.

Budget and forecast for the long-term.

Manage working capital and analyze financing alternatives.

Evaluate capital investments and value acquisitions.

Evaluate company’s performance in detail.

Identify, assess and manage risks.

Who gives the CMA exam?

The CMA Exam is set by the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA). The IMA is one of the leading professional organizations for accountants in the United States and around the world. There are more than 125,000 members worldwide.


CMA exam topics?

The CMA exam consists of a two parts focusing on the critical skills of financial planning, analysis, control and decision support. These two parts cover 12 competencies as follows:

Part 1

Financial Planning, Performance, and Analytics

    • Covers:
      • 15% External Financial Reporting Decisions
      • 20% Planning, Budgeting, and Forecasting
      • 20% Performance Management
      • 15% Cost Management
      • 15% Internal Controls
      • 15% Technology and Analytics

Part 2

Strategic Financial Management

    • Covers:
      • 20% Financial Statement Analysis
      • 20% Corporate Finance
      • 25% Decision Analysis
      • 10% Risk Management
      • 10% Investment Decisions
      • 15% Professional Ethics

Exam Format and Passing Scores

The CMA program consists of two examinations:

  1. Financial Planning, Performance, and Analytics
    • Duration: 4 hours
    • 100 multiple-choice questions and two 30-minute essay questions 
  2. Strategic Financial Management
    • Duration: 4 hours
    • 100 multiple-choice questions and two 30-minute essay questions

Getting Certified as a CMA

After passing the two exams, a candidate must demonstrate that s/he has 2 years of experience to get certified.

Eligibility Requirements for Non-USA Citizens

There are 3 ways in which a person may demonstrate their eligibility for the CMA Exams:
  1. Have a four-year university degree, in any field. Most degrees obtained outside of the United States need to be evaluated by an independent agency to determine if it is the equivalent of four- year US degree. Please contact us to find out if your degree needs to be evaluated.
  2. Take the GMAT exam and receive a score in the 50th percentile, or higher.
  3. Have a similar professional qualification from another country, such as CPA, ACCA, ACA or other national qualifications.

Because the CMA Exam is computer based it is available around the year. You will need to contact the local testing center to find out the specific days of the week that the exam is available in Ramallah.

When can the CMA exam be taken?

Both Parts 1 and 2 will be given during the following three testing window periods: 

  • January and February
  • May and June
  • September and October

The exams will continue to be administered by computer at Prometric testing centers. If a candidate registers to test during a specific window and fails to take the exam, the candidate must register again and pay the full registration fee.

Where may the CMA exam be taken?

Because the CMA Exam is computer based, it may be taken in many countries around the world. In Palestine, the exam can be taken in Ramallah at the Amideast offices.

Are you ready?

Contact us today to learn more what is the next step to become a certified CMA.